Hi guys,

I've had a little trouble with my microphone as of late. It seems to have a watery/muffled/annoying quality to it when recording.....Anything, whether it's an instrument plugged in, or me speaking.

First I tried recording with Audacity and it had this problem, then I tried a program called 'Debut Video Capture software'

But not avail.

Here is a sample I made. (You will have to listen for a bit to hear it)

http://www.mediafire.com/?68eypa3yuxwpsjq

I have been all over to find an answer. It even does it when I record with a good quality headset. So I'm thinking, possibly something to do with the configuration.

Thanks UG.

\m/
Quote by Usernames sucks
Im not a professional, but noise gate?

I'm not sure. Maybe.
I don't think it will solve the problem entirely, seeing as just regular speaking, directly into the microphone (No wires or anything), as if I were talking to someone on skype or something, seems to muffle/water up as well.

It's bugging me, although I do have a different computer I could possibly use, I still want to know what's going on.

A quote from the TV show Scrubs

"It's so much easier to deal with, now that I know what it is"

I like it
Erm... not to undermine your intelligence, but when you say microphone and then say 'no wires or anything' it gives me the impression you're talking about the built-in microphone of a laptop...

Are you seriously trying to record anything with that?

Then there's the fact you mentioned a 'good quality headset', which I doubt considerably (a good quality headset costs several hundred pounds, unless you're on about a computer/gaming headset, in which case they aren't useful for recording other than as a talkback mic... they're a long way off from professional recording quality), but why would you record with a headset anyway?