For example..

basic chords -> barre -> alternate picking -> power chords -> stretching -> basic major scale -> etc..

I'm a beginner and I have an interest in metal. I just want to have a good idea on the order of techniques learnt by people since I know they vary, and sometimes I get confused on what I'm supposed to learn first.
Try to learn basic/power chords at the same time. Throw in bar chords if you can too. When you've gotten the basic ones (NOTE! You can Never learn too many chords, it's something you'll keep on learning as you go), you learn the major scale, after the major scale. The progress of alternate/economy/finger picking should be learnt and practiced at all times.

When you've grown more used to different techniques and theory, you should work all this into your warming up.

Note. You should also think, How seriously am I going with this? Im starting to go after this as a guide on what I should learn ( http://www.vai.com/part-one/ ), but you might not want to learn that much. Remember, you started playing this, because it seemed Fun, and Interesting. Not because it's a chore that you have to think of. As soon as you think of it as a chore, DO SOMETHING ELSE.
Quote by Wisthekiller
How does one safely remove the smell of a corpse from a banjo?
1. Learning tab
2. basic chords
3. power chords
4. barre chords
5. playing songs with easy downpickable lead guitar stuff
6. fingerpicking
7. alternate picking
8. sliding
9. reading music (sheet music. Only reason for this is because I started playing piano as well)
10. started getting more into theory and scales and how music works
11. Vibrato/bending
12. Expanding my chord vocabulary (With stuff I found in tabs/just messing around)
13. Working on writing my own songs