I've finished recording a song into Reaper via my POD X3 and when I render it, it loses so much quality and over all feel. Not to mention the volume of it all is cut in half. I just don't understand.. I tried rendering it into wav, mp3, flac (I thought maybe rendering into flac then into mp3 that it wouldn't be that bad of a hit of quality) but nothing seems to work. What I hear in Reaper sounds amazing, but it just wont render into that same sound. It sounds real in Reaper, rendered it sounds airy.

I'd appreciate any and all help I can get from you guys!
I'm brand new at recording, could you please explain to me how to stop clipping?
Anything that goes over +6 on the master is clipping, if you watch the outer volume bars, it's also measured as a red box above the bars, telling you exactly how much it clipped.

On your individual tracks, try and keep everything at -6 db, it'll keep your master from clipping.
I set everything up like you said, but I'm still getting a very dim sound when I render :\
Go with the maximum setting. MP3 is notorious for cutting out alot of volume and quality in Reaper. You may not get the full volume and quality, but you'll get enough. Unless you start to compress things, Reaper will always play it louder than once you convert it to MP3.
It's kind of depressing really :P The song loses a lot of life when I render, even at max settings. And when I said it felt airy, that might be due to the lack of any apparent bass in the rendered version.
This is so odd! It plays perfectly in Windows Media Player, but sounds so dim in Winamp xD

Uploading the MP3 soon
Quote by ethan_hanus
Anything that goes over +6 on the master is clipping, if you watch the outer volume bars, it's also measured as a red box above the bars, telling you exactly how much it clipped.

On your individual tracks, try and keep everything at -6 db, it'll keep your master from clipping.