Hey everybody!
I'm a new entry here; my name's Rudy, 26 from Italy!

I've been playing guitar for 7-8 months and, after having established a good foundation in chord vocabulary and some licks/riffs, I've decided to go for Tagliarino's "Guitar Fretboard Workbook".

I have a question for those who are familiar with the patterns/shapes he teaches; in the 7th chapter he asks students to construct each of the 5 scales patterns (based on the respective octave shapes).

Now, I've discovered that, working on the guitar, I prefer to follow my intuition and tactile memory instead of a visual approach (for example I'm faster and more precise when I'm NOT looking at the fretboard).

Tagliarino says to memorize each pattern but he also says to always start playing a scale on the root till the octave. This confuses me a bit.

If you give me the roots I can play almost instantly the scales to the next octave, but I have a lot of difficulty in visualizing the 4 frets vertical pattern.
I kinda work by proximity, so I'm very fluid in building scales ALL around the fretboard, while I struggle to stick to a visual plan. The scales I build aren't enclosed in the vertical 4-frets pattern.

When I let my fingers/ears do their work, I can play scales all around the fretboard and when I miss a degree there's an almost instantaneous muscular correction. But that's not the goal of Tagliarino's book, since he wants you to stay in the 5 vertical positions, as I understand it.

My fingers are anarchists!

So I'm asking to you, guys, with more experience;

1 - What is wrong with my approach? Could I get some benefit from it?

2 - I can't play the vertical patterns because, at times, you gotta start a pattern on the 3rd or 4th degree of a scale and that's not musically-sensed to my ear/fingers! Should I force myself to memorize the 5 scales patterns someway? Is there a correct way to practice scales?

Thanks everybody for your attention
my best to you
rudy
Quote by rodblue
Hey everybody!