I just wrote a song for my band, and I realised the guitars play literally no chords in the whole song - just riffs layered over each other. Is this a problem?
i'm no expert but if one riff is played in A something, and the next in C something, followed by one in E something, i guess your chord progression would be A C E

can you give some more information? how do you play it? (power chords, single notes, ...)
Quote by psyks
You are filthy.
No.
Quote by Cathbard
You don't need epic tone in the bedroom any more than you need mood lighting to masturbate.

chord progressions - like everything in music theory - serves to explain what's happening in a song.
And I think that someone with enough knowledge of theory will be able to find a chord progression in your song too, if he/she would analyse it.

When writing music there are no rules.
A chord progression will most likely be implied by your note choice and their relationships within in each respective bar, so it's most definitely not a problem and is in fact a completely valid option for composing.

However, I would highly recommend keeping an open ear and tampering with finding which chords are those that are implied by your riffs, as a means to strengthen your recognition of note relationships and benefit your overall musicianship.
Looking out for small groups of notes (maybe a bar's worth, or even a beat's worth, depending on whereabouts the root note or perceived harmony changes) and name them, deriving potential chords. This is one of simplest - and a very effective - method of achieving the results I've talked briefly about above, and it can present you with a wealth of experience and ideas for future projects.

It can always be implied.

I often make arrangements of songs in various styles from metal to jazz to pop etc. for acoustic guitar, and I can almost always find a (implied) chord progression.

Especially if the melody "feels" strong in a song, then their is almost always a (strong) harmony implied.