I have had an acoustic for about 6 months (long enough to know I am serious about learning guitar) and now i have some money saved up and i want to purchase an electric guitar and an amp. My price limit is about 400 bucks for both. What would you suggest for a guitar and an amp? I've always heard Ibanez is probably the best bang for you buck for cheaper guitars. I only will need a practice sized amp as I don't play gigs or anything. I also have heard mixed reactions about buying the "starter kits" offered as the amps tend to be pretty bad. This is my first time ever posting on UG forums so i'm sorry if this is not located in the right category. Thanks!
For a starter amp, you really can't beat the Roland Microcube series. They're well under your price range, leaving some money left over for the guitar purchase. For the guitar, the Fender Squier series seem fairly decent. They're inexpensive, Mexican-made guitars, but the quality seems decent for what you get vs. what you pay. Don't forget you'll also need an instrument cable. With the extra money, you can buy some extra strings.
The vox vt series is the BEST starter amp imo. They have a lotta good starter features, I think the vt20 is like $160 new and the vt sounds phenomenal for a ss amp. That'd leave you with enough money to buy a used strat or epi or whatever. Def check out the vox vt!
I agree with the Microcube. Also, a Peavey Vyper might be a good option for you as well. Just avoid the Line 6 Spiders and Marshall MGs like the plague... What kind of music do you want to play? Any specific bands whose sound you like?
Gear
Highway One Tele (w/Custom Shop 51 Nocaster pickups)
Standard Tele (modded to Nashville specs)
Reverend Roundhouse

Orange Rockerverb 50 MKI
Vox AC4c1
Jet City JCA20H

And pedals!

"Shiva opens her arms now..
...to make sure I don't get too far"
Quote by KG6_Steven