hey guys, i wanted to get some advice from you on the following subject:

I played guitar before and I'm going to start playing bass. I'm not thinking about start a band, at least not for now, but i want to try a new instrument. So, this thread's objective is to get some advice about getting my first bass (i've checked the starter basses section of the FAQ) and also any other advice that you think a former guitar player should get.

for the bass, since i have no previous experience, i'll tell you what i expect from my first bass:
- basically, i want it to last.
- also i'd like it to have good playability. i don't have little hands issues, though.
- i'd like a 4 string bass, nothing complicated, and large or XL frets, since my guitar (yamaha EG-112) has large frets, and i am used to that.
- about the sound i'm looking for, that is the aspect i care the less for two reasons: for sound, the amp is the important thing, and i also don't know what kind of music i'll try to play with the bass (since i love AC/DC but i know that the bass isn't very fun to play with it )

about the price, since i live in Argentina, some basses are cheaper than other that in USA are at the same price. for a reference, say a Squier P.bass price. MAYBE a liiiiitle bit more, but since i'm just starting i don't want to spend a fortune on a bass...

well, i think that's all. Thanks in advance, people.
Quote by FatalGear41
When you break a bass string, that snapping sound is the sound of six dollars going down the crapper.

Sterling Ray 35
Hartke Ha3500 head - Gallien Krueger 212MBE cab
Tech 21 VT Bass
Zoom b2
As far as a bass goes, look into ESP. They've got decent mid/low range stuff that'll last for a while until you decide if bass is really for you, but that isn't so bad that you won't be able to use it. I'd suggest something like this -

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/esp-ltd-b-154dx-bass-guitar/516171000016000