Howdy,

As of recent, I've been teaching myself a lot more theory. I'm 15 and self taught for 5 years, so forgive my arrogance.

Anyways, my question regards modes. Basically, I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around them.

If I'm messing around in C Major, I could move up the neck and play the same scale off the 5th (G). Since the 5th scale degree is Mixolydian, and I'm playing the same notes, am I playing a G Mixolydian mode? And could I also play a D Dorian off the C Major scale?

My reasoning here is that a G Mixolydian has the same notes as a C Major, just using G as the root.

Again, I'm not sure I understand the whole modes thing, but any help is appreciated.

Cheers,
Sleepyhead <3
Guy above is idiot.
C Ionian (Major) = G Mixolydian.
C ionian = A Aeolian etc.
The only difference is the root.
By the way, doing mode changes in a song where all the notes are same is retarded.
A Aeolian to A Mixolydian can sound cool.
Basically if you're in C major, the scale ranges from C to C. The modes in C major are:
Dorian - D to D
Phrygian - E to E
Lydian - F to F
Mixolydian - G to G
Aeolian - A to A
Locrian - B to B

Modes are just starting on different notes in a scale and open you up to new ways of approaching solos in the key.
Does this make sence?
Quote by Keth
No.

If you're 'messing' around in C major, you're messing around in C major, no modes, *period*.

Only good response. Sigh.

If you're playing in the key of C major, you're already denying any idea of you playing modes. A key depends on where the progression resolves.

Just think about it. If you play G Mixolydian over a progression in C major, how does it differ from the C major scale? You start from a different note? That is irrelevant. You can start from any note even if you're playing C major. Playing G Mixolydian in this case is playing C major.

For modal playing you need a modal vamp or progression.