Heya =)
I'm Lisa, 26, (a girl obviously). I've been playing rhythm guitar for about 3 years. But I've always wanted to play Lead.
I'm just using the minor pentatonic scales. Or rather, I'm just using the one pattern and finding the root notes to move through to each minor scale.
I've found this makes it easier to switch from the Am pentatonic to a Bm or whatever, since I've memorised the one pattern, but my attempts at solos still sound too 'scaley' and frankly crap.
I know how to bend and and use vibrato but I tend to just repeat the same lousy tricks. I don't much like hammer-on's or pull-off's either so it's not about that.

I tend to get stuck on the same things, like: Bend on the 7th fret 3rd string, resolve to 5thfret 3rd string slide back to 5thfret3rd string, slide to 9th fret 3rdstring, slide to 12 fret 3rd string, bend. blah blah blah.
I'm only just starting to learn, and it all seems so overwhelming so, any tips would be appreciated.
Cheers.
Quote by SnowFox234
Heya =)
I'm Lisa, 26, (a girl obviously). I've been playing rhythm guitar for about 3 years. But I've always wanted to play Lead.
I'm just using the minor pentatonic scales. Or rather, I'm just using the one pattern and finding the root notes to move through to each minor scale.
I've found this makes it easier to switch from the Am pentatonic to a Bm or whatever, since I've memorised the one pattern, but my attempts at solos still sound too 'scaley' and frankly crap.
I know how to bend and and use vibrato but I tend to just repeat the same lousy tricks. I don't much like hammer-on's or pull-off's either so it's not about that.

I tend to get stuck on the same things, like: Bend on the 7th fret 3rd string, resolve to 5thfret 3rd string slide back to 5thfret3rd string, slide to 9th fret 3rdstring, slide to 12 fret 3rd string, bend. blah blah blah.
I'm only just starting to learn, and it all seems so overwhelming so, any tips would be appreciated.
Cheers.