So I have something that has been bugging me for the past 1/2 day and wanted to get some unbiased opinions. I'm a firefighter/paramedic and we got called to a guys apartment last night to help him get up because he fell. We've helped this guy up several times and over the last month his physical state has rapidly declined and he can no longer take care of himself. He sits in a chair in his house and pees on full paper towel rolls because he cannot take himself to the bathroom. The apartment can be smelled as your coming up in the elevator. Last night he came home after being in the hospital for a week and got dropped off by a wheelchair car and placed on the toilet and left there. We got called after he had been on the toilet for 3+ hrs and while we helped him to bed noticed he was sweating profusely and was pale. We checked him out and found that he had EXTREMELY low blood pressure, you could barely feel his heartbeat in his wrist, and he is a diabetic and his blood sugar was VERY high. However, his mind was perfectly fine and he politely refused transport to the hospital. The law states that as long as his mind is ok he is allowed to refuse any treatment. We left him in the house and havent heard anything back but but conscience is bothering me and I feel like we should have just made up something saying his mind wasnt all there and just taken him in against his will. Thoughts?
Quote by ali.guitarkid7
If he's perfectly capable of making his own choice, then you shouldn't beat yourself up over it man.

He should still go check on him now though if he's worried, if he's lying there dead or unconcious or whatever then he can go and get help. I honestly think this is what TS should do tbh, if he's reading this he should consider it.
if you explained the seriousness of the issue to him, ain't much else you can do. Shit sucks, man . Maybe he'll come with you next time.
I think we took too many drugs when we were kids,
'cause now we like to make
Weird Music
-Wayne Coyne