So I was screwing around on my guitar and came out with this skynyrd like tune , and one of the parts goes something like this

e|--------------|
B|-2-2----------|
G|-2-2------4---|
D|-2-2---0--5---|
A|-0-0------5---|
E|------3---3---|

Basically, if i coded that so its a legible tab (lol), I'm playing an A Open Chord, and then the weird power chord, but do the the more upbeat tempo, the way I finger it slows me down a lot.

What I Mean by that, is that the way I bar the A Open, then use my ring finger to play the G note, then the power chord. This slows me down a lot, so am I just playing it wrong, or is there a better sounding, better positioned G5?

Sorry for my lack of musical terminology, I'm a newb.
There's room for all of God's creatures; Right next to the mashed potatoes.
Actually that's not a G5. It's a regular G chord. The 4 on the G string is a B, the third note in a G scale, which makes it a G major. You could screw around with a couple different voicings of a G chord. Just make sure that every note you strum will either be a G, B, or D. If the lowest pitched note you strum is not a G, but either a B or a D, it will be an inversion. It will have a different sound. I can't really explain it, since I really haven't screwed around with different voicings. Just mess around with it. This is one of the reasons why knowing the fretboard is so important.
you could just play it like

e|--------------|
B|-2-2----------|
G|-2-2------0--|
D|-2-2---0--0---|
A|-0-0------2---|
E|------3---3---|
no the last chord would be <3x000x> if you were to reposition it, but you could add that B, 2nd fret A-string if you want
Quote by Night
wtf is a selfie? is that like, touching yourself or something?
Last edited by Wiegenlied at Oct 13, 2011,
Quote by dkeenan