So I know the phrygian dominant scale [basically a phrygian mode with a sharpened 3rd], but what makes a scale "dominant"?
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
correct me if I'm wrong, but to be dominant should mean it contains a flattened 7th (think of a dominant 7 chord).
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.

Maybe shagging Mark Knopfler, but that's about it.
It should have a Major third P5 and a minor seventh in it.
You can also make a dominant major scale which would be in C: C D E F G A Bb C
Others would say it's the mixolydian scale but this might get confusing with modal music, since it's mostly a rock cliché to make a b7 to get rid of the sweet sounding major seventh.
EDIT:Forgot to mention that the b7 tends to sound bluesy since it is used alot in blues think of minor pentatonics over a major chord.
Which brings me to the Dominant pentatonics, just minor pentatonics with a major third.
That might be worth foolin' around in.
Last edited by liampje at Oct 14, 2011,
I think dominant scale means the fifth mode of an original scale, so in your case the fifth mode of a harmonic minor.
I think being the mixolydian mode makes it dominant.
Not sure if a sig is a necessity.
A dominant scale only needs to have a 1 3 and b7. You'll find in different scales like harmonic minor, melodic minor, harmonic major that your scales may be different but you still have the dominant quality. Dominant chords resolve to the fifth down or fourth up and you'll find that in any given scale that these dominant scales have a tendency to want to resolve but stylistic one may choose not too. I'm sure people on here may wanna share examples of songs that employ dominant scales. Anybody wanna give some examples?
Quote by Requim13