Consider me as dumb, idiot student learning guitar wanting to know all about 'Time Signature', tell me what it is and how to determine it as in case of a song? Your help will be really appreciated!
I'll try to make it short, so here we go...
4:4 is the most common time signature. In a 4:4 measure it's room for 4 quarter notes. (a quarter note = 1:4).
3:4 is simply a measure that's 1:4 less than 4:4 (a quarter note less). Sometimes it's used in 4:4 songs to create an off-beat feel, or simply just make a 3:4 song.
2:4 is obviously half as short as a 4:4 measure... not much more to say than that.
You get the point... hopefully.
There is much other time signatures, but I'm not experienced with those...

Edit: By the way, I know I mistyped at first, but now I fixed it.
Last edited by JB95 at Oct 14, 2011,
Quote by JB95
I'll try to make it short, so here we go...
4:4 is the most common time signature. In a 4:4 measure you can have a whole note, which lasts through the whole measure. (4:4 a whole, obviously).
4:3 is simply a measure that's 4:1 less than 4:4. Sometimes it's used in 4:4 songs to create an off-beat feel, or simply just make a 3:4 song.
4:2 is obviously half as short as a 4:4 measure... not much more to say than that.
There is much other time signatures, but I'm not experienced with those...

Please ignore almost everything that is written above. I hate to be quite so harsh, but it is mostly plain wrong. (4/3?!)
in the signature the top number (or left in this case) is the number of beats in a measure. the bottom is which note gets one beat.
4/4 means 4 beats in one measure with a quarter note getting one beat (because the 4 on bottom =1/4 or quarter note)
3/4 would be 3 beats per measure with quarter note as one beat
6/8 would be 6 beats per measure with an eighth note recieving one beat
My gear
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
B-52 LS100 Half Stack
Dunlop SW30 Slash Signature Wah
Digitech Hardwire CR-7 Stereo Chorus
Digitech Hardwire DL-8 Delay/Looper