Hey guys,

I'm an aspiring producer looking to add live guitar elements in to my production, and I just wanted to get some opinions/advice on what I'm going to purchase.

I'm looking to use a PCI audio interface Delta 1010LT - 10-In/10-Out PCI Virtual Studio) which has 2 built-in mic preamps, with a Squier Classic Vibe 50's Stratocaster Electric Guitar. I also plan to use software guitar amp plugins such as Amplitube 3, Amplitube Fender, and Guitar Rig.

Would you guys consider this a good setup in terms of quality and not having latency issues. Also, am I missing anything in this setup of:
Guitar > PCI Audio Interface (with mic preamps) > PC with software amps > Monitors

I'm a first time guitar buyer and not entirely sure if I have all the pieces to the puzzle.

Thanks in advance.
You need a Hi-Z input (high impedance) on your sound card or a DI box or a pre amp for guitar

Also i advice to try free software with impulse response for example: "lecto" with "God's cab" impulses.

Latency is always an issue, real total latency will be at least about 10ms (if it's stable at 10ms real latency than it's okay) unless you have a high end RME interface
Thanks for your response.

So if I add a Samson S Direct Plus Stereo Direct Box to this chain and purchase a slightly cheaper soundcard (without mic preamps) such as the M-Audiophile 2496 - would that work?

So the chain would be:
Guitar > DI box > PCI Audio interface (without preamps) > PC with software amps > Monitors

Also, for cables would I be using something like this?:
1/4" guitar cable going in to the DI box from the guitar and I'm kind of clueless as to what cable would go from the DI box in to the soundcard.

Also any clarication on whether I no longer need my soundcard to have mic preamps if I'm now using a DI box?

Thanks in advance and if any part of this setup is wrong/bad quality, please let me know how it could be improved.
Last edited by StickmanP at Oct 16, 2011,