Poll: Can just the color white be art?
Poll Options
View poll results: Can just the color white be art?
Yes
35 39%
No
46 51%
dno lol
9 10%
Voters: 90.
Page 1 of 2
So I had to go see this stupid and terrible play with school, but it did bring forth an interesting question. The play was about three friends, one of them bought a painting that was just white with nothing on it but the color white, and throughout a lot of the play the guy who bought it was arguing with his friend about if this painting was art or not.

So is a painting with just the color white on it really art? Can you justify paying a lot of money for it?
No it's not. Because if it was art then I would be a good artist. I am not an artist.
ggg1 ggg3

Me? No I would not pay for a blank canvas unless I would paint over it. A lot of times though, when an artist submits a work that goes against the norm, it's because he/she is already a skilled artist who can play by the rules. That's why pros don't consider scribbled drawings made by 5 year olds as art but they do when it's done by... Michelangelo.
Last edited by metaldud536 at Oct 15, 2011,
Yes, so long as there is a meaning behind it.

Is 4'33 music?