I've been playing guitar for a few years now and I would like to start playing bass as well. I've played on a few different models before (dean and schecter) but I've never had the means to get both a bass and a bass amp until now.

My price limit is around $700 (plus or minus) total for an amp and a bass. While I know getting used may buy something better, I would like new. If I can offer anymore information that would help narrow down one's suggestions, let me know and I will do my best. Thanks.
Without asking you the usual assortment of questions, I'll throw out some suggestions for you to mull over. I'll guess that you want to split your $700 between an amp and bass somewhat evenly.

As far as basses go, you can't really go wrong with an Ibanez. I'll always be happy to recommend an Ibanez first because they are practical for almost any musical application you could come across and are reliable instruments. For around $350, you can pick up the lower end of the SR series or possibly an ATK, which is a favorite of a couple users around here.

If Ibanez isn't your thing (some don't like the feel of their necks), you could easily have a look at the higher-end Squier line. While some would suggest a Made In Mexico Fender at this price range, users around here usually agree that Squier's high-end line has better bang for the buck, and the quality can be better in most instances. A Vintage Modified Jazz Bass or Precision Bass are both good basses to look at.

There are other brands to consider (Schecter, ESP) in this price range, as well. Both brands are also reliable and make nice basses.

The go-to amp for most users in this price bracket is Acoustic, and for good reason. Their amps are well-made and are tonally good for most applications. An Acoustic B200H and B410 half stack will get you through practices and gigs easily, and you can expand by adding another cab in the future.