Well, my previous venture into the guitar forum was a success, so thought I'd push my luck and try again.

I'm almost-kinda-maybe in the market for a new guitar. (As in, I know I want one, but current lack of funds mean it's either a long way off, or a family member dies/heart grows four sizes at christmas...) I've got a few big guitar shops near me, and so I'm not looking for a 'YOU MUST BUY THIS' kind of suggestion, moreover I'd like to build a list of possible choices that I can try out for myself.

I know you need more info to go on, so here we go:

-First things first, I'm not a pro/l33t/etc guitarist. I play bass, and bass is all I'll play live. Guitar is just there for me to mess about with, which I've been doing quite a lot. So no Ibanez prestige suggestions, please.

-I'm currently using a Harley Benton 'eBay special', that I got for about £140 over five years ago. Power tele (I think that's the word you guys use ) with two humbuckers in a tele body shape. It's ok, but has many niggles that are adding up over the years.

-I play mainly metal, with some occasional punk/pop punk, but a decent clean tone is always nice to have.

-Budget would be at the most, £350 - preferably well below that. I don't mind second hand, If that's suggested. Ideally I'm looking at £200-£250.

-My amp is crap atm. It's a cheap, own brand bass amp, so bear that in mind. I play through a marshall Guv'nor GV2.

-I'm undecided as to whether I want a tremolo or not. persuade me either way.

If I get a lot of responses, I'll update this post with various suggestions in their respective price ranges. (Easy for me to refer to, and perhaps useful for others in the same position).

Thanks in advance.
Quote by Dogruitag
i think he wants to dream theater to be considered more metal, so he dyed his beard.

Quote by LookAlive
Lmfao, this is the best thread ever, aside from the fact that it involves a girl being harpooned through a tent.