So I'm a music student and found myself in the school band as rhythm guitarist. Unfortunately, they mostly do reggae songs and I'm not really into the reggae genre (strictly punk rock TBH) and I'm a stranger to a lot of the playing techniques. Basically I'm just getting the hang of muting in time with the beat and I usually use my palm to do it. My guitar teacher tells me I should be using my fret hand for muting in reggae, though. Does it matter? :/ I find it so much harder to get the same effect and I feel like he's just picking at minor details since it's not like I'll ever be doing it outside of the school band.

Bottom line : Is there any specific reason to bother with fret hand muting or can I just get by with what I'm good at? (using the palm of my strumming hand)
Ibanez GRG170DX
Line 6 Spider IV 15
No, voice the chords. You'll get a more defined rhythm without having to worry about stupid harmonics.
╘MESHUG╦G╗AH

Ibanez ARX 350
Dunlop 535Q
Ibanez TS9
Peavey TransTube Supreme
DRIVE Elite straight 412
Quote by kaoticnick
So I'm a music student and found myself in the school band as rhythm guitarist. Unfortunately, they mostly do reggae songs and I'm not really into the reggae genre (strictly punk rock TBH) and I'm a stranger to a lot of the playing techniques. Basically I'm just getting the hang of muting in time with the beat and I usually use my palm to do it. My guitar teacher tells me I should be using my fret hand for muting in reggae, though. Does it matter? :/ I find it so much harder to get the same effect and I feel like he's just picking at minor details since it's not like I'll ever be doing it outside of the school band.

Bottom line : Is there any specific reason to bother with fret hand muting or can I just get by with what I'm good at? (using the palm of my strumming hand)