So... here's the story. I bought a pair of Cascade fathead ribbon mics, but the pres in my Profire 2626 aren't hot enough for the mics. I want to get a 2 channel pre, but I'm on a pretty strict budget, so I can't spend more than $150 or so. I've looked at the Behringer ULTRAGAIN pro MIC2200, the Alesis Mictube duo, and the ART TPS II. Out of those I was leaning towards the Behringer because it has the best reviews out of the three, but I've had some bad experiences with Behringers before.
Any recommendations?
never trust behringer.they always crap out after a few months
ಠ_ಠ
<|>
/ω\

Tell me what nation on this earth, was not born of tragedy-Primordial
Quote by Eggmond

I have had a behringer C-1 mic for about 2 years that i love, although it takes some EQing to get a great sound :p

but yes i agree in general behringer is kind of sketch.
I wouldn't waste my money on a preamp under $500 but if I did, I get the Presonus TubePre like the one I bought for $75 used :p

Its only one channel but worth the money
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
Quote by lockwolf
I wouldn't waste my money on a preamp under $500 but if I did, I get the Presonus TubePre like the one I bought for $75 used :p

+1 i bought one and swapped the tube for a NOS phillips. much better than the stock pre's in my interface.
Guitars:
LTD Alexi-600 White & Black
LTD Alexi-200 Black(Death Adder pickup & Gold OFR)
Agile Interceptor Pro 727 7-string
Jackson JS30RR rhoads
Jackson DKMGT
Squire telecaster

amps:
Bugera 6262 212 loaded with WGS veteran 30's
Probably more than you're looking to spend, but this sounds sweet on ribbons:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/RibbonPre

Used one on a Royer stereo ribbon room mic on a piano session I assisted on. Really clean gain.
Gear
  • 2004 Am. Strat
  • 2004 Mex. Tele
  • 2005 Esteve Classical

• Vox Valvetronix AD15VT w/ foot switch

• Vox 847
  • EH Stereo Polychorus
  • Ibanez TS-808
  • EH Big Muff Germanium 4
  • EH Small Clone
  • EH Small Stone (USA Ver 2)