Hey guys i'm looking for some new string types for both my acoustic and electric. The first is my Epi Sg with upgraded pickups. I previously used Ernie Balls and Dean Markleys on them but i want something less bright due to the new pickups. And the same goes for my Acoustic which i find to bright as well. I was thinking D' Addario maybe to try out something with a more rounded and whole tone with a better life expectancy than Ernie Balls (rust practically on the 3rd day lol.) Thanks guys. Whats your recommendation? What do you use? What do you wanna try?
Dadarios are great imo.
Guitars: Fender FSR Standard Strat, Squire Affinity Strat, Epiphone Nighthawk
Amps: Vox AC15C1, Roland Cube 15x, Peavey KB-1
Pedals: Digitech RP355, HD500, Joyo AC-Tone, EHX Soul Food
I've been playing D'addarios for the past four years, and I'm in love with them.
EDIT: Anyways, isn't string preference all subjective anyways?
I think you should just buy a few new packs of strings and play around with different brands until you find something that stands out to you.
My two cents.
Last edited by TheDefected at Oct 18, 2011,
i use ernie ball, i am not unhappy with them.
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
I've been playing DR's for the last few years. My favorites are Dimebags and Neons. neons have a duller tone, but the coating wears after a few days of heavy playing, but last several weeks after the coating is gone.
D'Addario , my favs ever and they have strings for every taste you'll have. I have tried GHS, Blue Steel from Dean Markley (nice sound but won't last), Fender, Ernie Ball, Elixir (these are good too), Dunlop (worst ever) but D'Addario's lasts me big time and I just love how they sound, I sweat a lot and I change strings after 2 weeks, not the same with other brands (1 week or something) except for elixirs, those last way more but I'm not big fan of how they sound.

Mesa Royal Atlantic