Hey, so I mainly play bass at church for my youth group's praise team. In most of the songs i only play single notes that follow the chord or harmonize to it (Playing B when the chord is G) it gets pretty boring iust doing that so i was wondering wgat techniques there are to improvise some riffs for chords (or chord progressions)
I have some knowledge of music theory if that helps.

Thanks! itzkpanda
Bass gear:
-Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass
-Fender Rumble 15 Amp

Guitar Gear:
-Agile AL-2000
-Boss Tu-3 Tuner -> Joyo Vintage Overdrive -> Joyo Vintage Ultimate Overdrive -> Ernie Ball MVP -> TC Nova Repeater
Use notes within the scale, particularly other chord tones. Try different rhythm patterns, not just straight quavers/eights - you could throw in some syncopated rhythms per example.

What kind of music do you play? Knowing that would help.
Professional lurker since 2009.
get your band to play stryper songs intead of boring old hymns
My Gear:
BC Rich Gunslinger Retro Blade
Vintage V100 Paradise + SD Alnico Pro Slash APH-2's
1963 Burns Short Scale Jazz Guitar
Dean Performer Florentine
Bugera 6260
Orange Micro Terror + cab
Digitech Bad Monkey
Zoom G2G
Well since nobody will hear it I think you're good.

Serioiusly though, when I'm gonna improvise something, I don't think about it I just do it. Just stay in the same key, being able to really feel the music helps too. Get the groove of the song and just jam the hell out. If people look at you in bewilderment, (eg. Marty Mcfly) than you did a good job
"[Bleach] is mostly water, and we are mostly water, therefore we are bleach"

I feel we should go to...

Purple Alert
Quote by technoguyx
Use notes within the scale, particularly other chord tones. Try different rhythm patterns, not just straight quavers/eights - you could throw in some syncopated rhythms per example.

What kind of music do you play? Knowing that would help.

I play contemporary christian to christian rock.

Quote by Retrogunslinger