Hi, I was just wondering what my options are when it comes to lowering the action on my guitar. I have an epiphone masterbilt dr-500. It sounds great and I love it, but the action has always been far too high. I adjusted the truss rod slightly and it helped a little bit, but it still isn't quite as easy to play as I'd like (my point of reference being an epiphone ej-200 artist). From what I gather my options are to either shave the bridge saddle or to get a neck reset, the latter being extremely expensive.

Any advice and input is much appreciated.
Quote by frank34443
Hi, I was just wondering what my options are when it comes to lowering the action on my guitar. I have an epiphone masterbilt dr-500. It sounds great and I love it, but the action has always been far too high. I adjusted the truss rod slightly and it helped a little bit, but it still isn't quite as easy to play as I'd like (my point of reference being an epiphone ej-200 artist). From what I gather my options are to either shave the bridge saddle or to get a neck reset, the latter being extremely expensive.

Any advice and input is much appreciated.

Take it in to have a tech set it up, usually isn't that expensive. It's definitely worth it.
I shaved the bridge saddle on my acoustic with the help of detailed instructions from my guitar teacher, but I also have access to precision tools for measuring, as well as high quality files.

You will need these things, and a healthy degree of confidence, cause you can only shave it once, and shimming is a pain in the ass.

Or have a tech do it.
language
jazyk
kieli
язык
العربية

My Tumblr: Lots of artist recommendations, album reviews, and ideas about music (as well as some film and bike stuff).

Go Sharks! Go Wings! Go Flyers! Go Kings!
if your guitar is a recent "vintage", chances are poor that you need a neck reset, but if you feel that could be the case, you should definitely take it to a luthier. it shouldn't cost anything for them to take a look.