Hi everyone,

I've been playing guitar for 4 years and my dad has said I can get a new one ( and an amp ) but I have no idea what to get! Please can someone advise me as I seem to be the only guitarist in my year who has an electric and no one else knows.

All help would be apprechiated!

Thanks ( Sorry if this is in the wrong place, first post on UG)
Welcome

We're going to need to know your budget, location as well as what kind of music/sound you're looking to play
I live in Scotland, I play rock (all of it really, Linkin Park,MCR, Green Day, Muse ect..) The budgets around £500 for the guitar and £250 for the amp
Squier Classic Vibe or maybe a Epi Les Paul (idk how much they are over there.)
Quote by JD Close
Piano dick had some good parts, but should have said "As the business man slowly gets boned", would have accented the whole dick feeling of the album
You should really spend at least half of your budget on the amp, as it really is the core of your tone.
Quote by ethan_hanus
Buy a Squier Classic Vibe Strat, and a Valveking, problem solved.

This
Though I would say more along the lines of these 2
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/squier-vintage-modified-stratocaster-hss-electric-guitar
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/epiphone-les-paul-standard-plain-top-electric-guitar
Thanks for all your replies, but I probably should have mentioned I have a Strat already, but thats cool.
Quote by AssassinBoyyo

Linkin Park
MCR
Green Day
Muse

Love those bands too! I'd say go for an Epi LP or a a used gibby studio or sg. Try them out first and before anyone mentions that the studios are overpriced, they are better than the epiphones. Well, except maybe the ultras. Get a good tube amp. Maybe a blackstar ht-1 or 5 or a used jet city?