I play metal and despite trying, I can't get a good sound. I can always hear that 'fuzz' over my riffs. I want to try getting a better quality sound. I also tried messing with the 4-band EQ but no luck. Any tips or reg set ups you guys suggest?
Not really. Yet it's to the point where I can't get a decent gain for some riffs without hearing that fuzz in the background. I saw people use the EQ to balance it out but i'm new to that.
please record your signal unprocessed and upload it.

I had a Line6 GX and it took a shit after a year.
any samples that are below a DB were getting cut off and giving it a fuzz sound.

You might have a defective unit.
Are your riffs fuzzy or is it background noise?
Gear:
----------------------
Jack and Danny Brothers Ls-5
Ibanez Gsa 60
----------------------
Zoom g9.2tt (for sale (NL))
----------------------
Blackheart Little Giant
The riffs are fuzzy. I have the distortion sound I want but I can't get rid of the excess fuzz even with a noise gate
Gain no higher than 5/50%, notch out 3k and 4k with EQ and low pass at 8khz.
The gain bit I understand but I just started messing with the EQ So I don't really understand the second part
Use an Eq plugin for this part (the pod Eq isn't so great):
If you use Reaper, ReaEQ will do the trick. If not, most Eq plugs are similar. On the first band, set the mode to a low cut (same as a high pass) as set the value to 100 hz. On the second band, set the mode to a bell then the value to 3khz; set the Q value as high as possible and reduce the gain until you hear some of the fizz dicipating. Do the same for 4khz on the third band. On the fourth band set a high cut (same as a low pass) and set it between 8khz and 10khz. This low pass will get rid of all the high end junk.

Also, just incase you're using the Insane amp model... Don't.

Hope this helps.