I assume there is thread for this, but I'm not going to check for it.

My dilemma:

My Line 6 Spider III keeps breaking. It is unreliable and Line 6 is not a quality company. They used cheap materials to produce this amp. I can't even plug my guitar in without the risk of the input jack falling into itself. I want a new amp. I think I might want a half-stack. I've been playing for about seven years and I think it is time I sell my Line 6. Marshall seems to be a company I might invest in. I also like the sound of Engl. I play a multitude of genres ranging from jazz to technical death metal. My budget is rather low. I am not looking to spend more than $500. I just want something better than what I have.

Tl;dr:

Budget: $0-$500.
Do not want: Line 6.
Half-stack?
Jazz-Technical Death Metal.
don't bother with a half stack, you'll never get an engl in your price range. Check into bugara 6262, or solidstate amps with tube preamps.
yeah, you might wanna look at the bugera 6262, it'll do death metal, and it's cleans are nice enough for jazz too.
Egnater... 'nuff said

Edit: They may struggle with death metal XD
Gear!!!!

Fender Lonestar Stratocaster w/ Seymour Duncan pearly Gates!!!
PRS SE Custom 24 Vintage Natural
Gibson Les Paul Signature T Trans Ebony
Engl Screamer 50
Quote by carnagereap666

OK. Then get a Marshall MG. Crushing and it fits in your budget. Half stacks are br00tal. You can't do Technical Death without one. Wait for the new Carbon Fiber version. Zakk Wyle says it is awesome.
Quote by winterXsolstice
don't bother with a half stack,

Well, I figure a half-stack would be better because my brother and I are trying to form a band together and I would like to be audible over the blast beats.

you'll never get an engl in your price range.

I was just throwing out that I like the sound of them. So something similar would be in the general vicinity of what I am searching for.

Check into bugara 6262, or solidstate amps with tube preamps.