I have a Fender starcaster and an sp amp and ive been playing for 8 months and ive been attempting (and failing) 2 things, Sweep picking which is what I really need help with. And tabbing by ear, which is something that cant really be taught, but I really want to know how to sweep pick, so can anyone spare any tips? am staring with the most basic scale which is 14G, 13B, 12E, 14E,13B,12G. and i just cant seem to get the speed down i can do it mediocre slow and ive been practicing this for months and i just cant seem to get it down
If you've been playing for 8 months don't get mad when you cant sweep. I cant even sweep very well and I've been playing for 4 years.
i worked on sweeps like 3 hrs a day for about 6 months to get them down solid. at 8 months of playing i could not have dreamed of sweeping. its gonna take time. and just being able to do them is only half the battle once you learn them you have to try to incorporate them into your music it sucks...
Quote by bendystraw
Fifty bucks says you're fat.
Quote by TheEmoStrangler
i worked on sweeps like 3 hrs a day for about 6 months to get them down solid. at 8 months of playing i could not have dreamed of sweeping. its gonna take time. and just being able to do them is only half the battle once you learn them you have to try to incorporate them into your music it sucks...

+1

if you are really eager to sweep then do the math and try to put 3 hours more than emostrangler a day, 6 hours of sweeping every day should get you results in around half the time.
Sounds odd but trying adding another string to your sweep (as in 15,14,13,12). I say this because personally I find 3 string sweeps the hardest of the lot, but maybe that's just because I practiced 5 for longer.
I wrote a guide about sweep picking on my site.

http://www.guitarlearningtips.org/guitar-technique/sweep-picking-exercises/

I tried to be as detailed as i could in explaining the process.

Read it and i bet i will help you.