Hi Guys,

I have spent the night reading numerous posts on Dean Vendetta XMT. Some say its good, some say its bad because of whammy bar and crappy pick ups.

Well, I am a beginner on a tight budget and I am getting a Dean Vendetta XMT started pack with amp, cable, bag and everything else that I need for just $260. Is it a good deal.? Or should I wait and get more money and buy Epiphone Starter pack which is almost $420.

Please reply with reasons, for better understanding.

Thanks a ton.
-- Saurabh --
They are not quite as bad as some people make them out to be but for the price you can do better. Look through here and see what you like.
http://www.rondomusic.com/electricguitar.html
I suggest getting the Douglas Spad but if you dont mind waiting a little bit for an amp the best thing to get would be a Agile Al-2000. You can just get a USB guitar cable for $20 and use something such as Amplitube 3 wich has a free version or Guitar Rig 4 which is the full version but the trial only lets you use it 30 minutes at a time. Of course there are tons of free guitar fx VST's out there. But if you do get an amp I would say get a Peavey Vypyr 15, it will be ALOT better than the amp that comes with the Epiphone starter pack.

Check your local pawnshop and craigslist though, you can find some pretty nice stuff on there for dirt cheap.
You need $350 to get what I'd recommend, which is basically just what was recommended before me. Get an Agile AL-2000, they're like $285 including shipping and they're solid instruments. With the extra money get an amp. I'd say Vypyr is a good idea, but if you need a crappier amp to start out with then that's okay. Work on your technique for a year or so then buy a better amp. For starting out I think it's better to have a quality instrument than an amp, so you can work on technique and not hide any bad habit through gain or effects. That's just my opinion.
Gear:

Squier Strat
Epiphone Explorer
Agile AL-3100

No AMP
Quote by evmac