Hey guys, I have been playing for two years, and I don't know if it's just me but I feel way behind in the fact that I cannot compose my own solos. Metal/Rock solos in particular. I have no idea what to start learning so as to improve it. I have heard of learning scales and such but there are so many and I plainly do not know where to start. All my friends can come up and play their own solos(they have been playing for 4+ years) And I feel as if I should be able to do so as well. Any help/explanation would be awesome.

Some of my influences are in order:
Avenged Sevenfold
Bullet For My Valentine
Children of Bodom
Misfits ( I know they don't solo, but I like their groove)
Iron Maiden (Some of the best solos ever IMHO)

Cheers!
Quote by luxeion
i keep asking my dad for wood. but he keeps getting annoyed (he's working on a house). and i'm too young to go outside.

This will probably come across as a total cop-out answer, but a good teacher might be the best way to get you started with scales and therefore soloing.

Otherwise, try googling something like "how to play pentatonic scales on guitar" (then work up to blues and major scales).
I have a teacher, and I can do basic Minor and major shapes.
Quote by luxeion
i keep asking my dad for wood. but he keeps getting annoyed (he's working on a house). and i'm too young to go outside.

Quote by StrykVladzimsky

Thats all you really need dude.

If you can't solo in the Minor pentatonic how are you going to solo in any other scale?
Most of the 'best' sounding Metal & Rock solos are in the Minor pent.

Learning more scales wont help you, but knowing some chord theory will definatly help, if you know what notes are in a chord you can use those chord tones as a basis for a solo.

Learn some solos you like, heck, learn solos you don't like if their easy to play and understand theoretically.
Do You Want To See My Cotton Panties?