I've been playing guitar for a short while and I know want to learn about scales (the theory behind them and everything) When looking on the internet for lessons I find lots of sites teaching scales like this.
http://www.guitarfriendly.net/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/a-major-guitar-scale-third-position.jpg
So I've been learning from that, but then I see this. http://www.12bar.de/gif/scale_a.gif
and I have no idea what Im looking at of course I can see where the part of the scale I is but I don't understand any of the other notes. So could any one point me in the right direction to a lesson on this or explain it to me.

Thanks.
In my honest opinion, if you are being self taught, you're going to find it a tough time. I'd suggest getting a teacher. That diagram is one of the most worthless that you could have found, simply because it isnt going to help you at all at this stage.

This is what you can look forward to as you self study. I think it's great that you want to understand theory and so on. This path that you are taking is going to leave you more confused. If you can't get a teacher, and that's not an option. I'd suggest musictheory.net and work through the lessons one by one. Are they very good? Not really, but its about the best you will find for free.

If you are ever interested and can afford a private teacher, we do teach this kind of thing (theory and fretboard navigation applied to the guitar), and you're welcome to contact us here, and I'd be happy to get you a course catalog.

Also, one last free resource, would be to check of Mike Dodge's free lessons website. He knows his stuff.

Good luck man. Respect for trying to learn, but these diagrams aren't really going to get you there.

Best,

Sean