Hi there!

Well, I have been teaching myself to play electric guitar since 2009. I love heavy metal and rock music, and I covered several songs from some of my favorite bands, Iron Maiden, Metallica, Judas Priest, Kreator, etc., by myself (mostly the rhythm).

Anyway, lately I have been loaded down with college work, job, etc. and I just cannot find time for guitar practice like I used to before. Also, I am having a tough time finding songs I would want to sit down and learn fully, and which would be appropriate for my level (not too tough, nor too easy). The songs I pick up do not seem interesting enough after a while, or I find they extensively use a technique I cannot do yet (super-fast downpicking, tapping, sweep picking, etc).

Well, I would say I haven't been able to practice guitar properly for the past 2 months (since college began and I got my job), and whenever I pick up the guitar these days, little things such as holding the pick, placing the guitar on my legs, etc, seem "foreign" (but they all come back to me once I play for sometime). I am kind of worried; is it possible to "forget" guitar playing?

Before I employed a "learning songs" approach to teaching myself guitar, where learning and covering songs were my primary method to learn guitar. I would practice a riff I cannot do for a long time, over many days, with a metronome, and would later see improvements. I did use to practice scales and different exercises, but learning songs were the main goals. However, these days I am thinking of taking up a "practice" based approach, where the primary focus will be on "keeping up my skills". I will maintain a good level of skills by practicing a set amount of techniques whenever I get time to play, and covering/learning others' music will be secondary (seeing I can't find songs to learn).