Im a drummer, but i would like to learn a new instrument as I aspire to be a musician one day. I am getting my first bass for christmas this year, and i was wondering what I should get: The Ibanex gsr200 or the Dean Edge 10. The Dean has active electronics, and ive heard that active electronics make it sound a lot better. So which one should i choose? Sorry this was posted in a hurry.
Well, in my personal experience, I would never advocate buying a Dean. Especially a low end Dean. That said, the Ibanez you're aiming at isn't that amazing either.

If it's at all possible, I'd go with this.
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/esp-ltd-b-104-bass-guitar/516169000848000
A tad more expensive - you're looking at about $70 more. But for it you'll get a better, more reliable instrument that you'll be able to grow with before having to buy up in the future.

If that's not possible and money's super tight, of the two you suggested I'd go with the Ibanez.
Do you feel warm within your cage?

And have you figured out yet -

Life goes by?
Quote by Hydra150
There's a dick on Earth, too
It's you
dude if you just want to learn to play bass and maybe play in a couple gigs i would suggest the squier begginer pack (precision or jazz bass). both are quite reliable and sound great, and the pack isn't very expensive. besides, it also comes with a 15 watt amp and a couple of accessories. between those two bass guitars, i would go with the ibanez
Quote by cl4mburglar
Im a drummer, but i would like to learn a new instrument as I aspire to be a musician one day.

Off-topic, but I couldn't help laughing at this Don't take it seriously though, I've tried drumming and it's damn hard.