So I've been playing for about 10 years now so I'm not a beginner, but I'm having a BIG problem writing solos. I'm betting more than anything it's a confidence problem but I'd like some feedback as well. I am no where near the level I'd like to be and even further from where I feel I should be for playing this long. I can play more blues-ish solos but not shredding. My band is modern metal, similar to Trivium, Machine Head... so shredding and that stuff is sort of a must. I can play stuff like most MetallicA solos, some Iron Maiden, and the more melodic Trivium stuff but when it comes to fast runs, arpeggios, and just crazy shit I can't even come close to keeping up. So for that reason I'd see why writing is more difficult (for my band at least).

Now my problem is first that my skills aren't exactly where I need them but more importantly I just can't seem to write the shit. I can sit around and diddle stuff and just do basic riffs but none of it would come close to qualify as a solo IMO. There's no singing or speaking through my playing, nothing technical at all, and IMO nothing really interesting at all. Just simply shit, more like what a bass solo would be like, but on guitar (not to say that bass solos are those negative things). I was in a band once before as lead guitarist and I tried writing solos and even though it was insanely hard to present them I still was able to. They sucked and had no feeling to them, and note I'm not just playing scales, I can't even do that. Now it's not that I have no heart or soul, I just can't seem to figure out how to connect it to my guitar, need some special adapter or something.