Are there proper zones to place your fingers while playing? IE like typing on the keyboard you keep you hands on the home keys, etc to be efficient...

so on the neck, does the first finger always go on the 3rd, fret, 7 fret, etc and the other fingers follow?

I'm asking because in rocksmith (i'm a noob, don't laugh, lol) they have these "anchor zones" and i don't know if I should be making myself learn that way...

on some songs I find their positioning to be less efficient, but maybe this is the proper way?
Last edited by Mjfan12 at Oct 29, 2011,
keep your hand over where your playing.

if your playing a pentatonic lick in Am your going to keep your index finger over the fifth fret, obviously. do that.

you shouldn't be taking the time to go to "anchor zones" inbetween playing parts. just go to where the next part starts, play, go to where the next one is, play, and so on.
Are there proper zones to place your fingers while playing? IE like typing on the keyboard you keep you hands on the home keys, etc to be efficient...

Basically, yes. There are a few different systems people use to separate the neck into different chunks and how to arrange the notes efficiently and musically, but the main guideline is the finger per fret rule.

So, if you have a scale that consists of notes on the 7th fret, 8th fret, 9th fret and 10th - regardless of what string they're on - then you play all the notes on the 7th fret with your first finger, all the notes on the 8th with your second, etc.

If you need to stretch, you want to prefer stretching with the index - so going 5-7-9 you would use fingers 124 (ie, stretch down a fret with index, leave out 3rd finger). If the stretch is larger use your head and listen to your hands.
I know for scales and such there are positions but my question is more for songs.....like in the game during In Boom by nirvana.....it makes you use your index finger on the 6th, 3rd, and first frets...