I've been playing guitar for several years now, and I just got my first 7-string the other day, so I've decided to start learning some Periphery stuff. I'm finding it very difficult to time their style of music, CAFO by Animals As Leaders for example, it's incredibly hard for me. I've been around some awkward rhythms and what not playing stuff like Wretched, Between the Buried and Me, Tool, As I Lay Dying, Whitechapel and other bands as well. But this style just isn't clicking for me, I can't 'feel' the rhythm out like I usually do, cause they always end up throwing some weird alternated riff in the middle of a section and they throw it in an odd number of times or something. So can someone give me some tips on timing this stuff?
Just listen to it first. Don't even try to play, just try and memorize what's going on. It's tough and syncopated rhythms in metalcore breakdowns don't even compare. Try learning some stuff from Meshuggah because they have some simpler riffs and they're easier to 'feel' for me. That's for the Periphery stuff. As for Tosin Abasi... he's just a ****ing beast. I doubt I could play CAFO practicing for a whole year, at least that intro part...
NOW PART OF THE

Quote by Robchappers
You are epic my friend ;-)
Quote by RU Experienced?
At this point I'd be more surprised if you found me a Christian children's entertainer that didn't sodomize and eat kids.
Last edited by GibsonMan321 at Oct 30, 2011,
thats Djent for you. Ive learnt Periphery songs before and yeah its hard, sometimes i find it easier to listen to the cymbals in some bits, but then again the cymbals can go really ****ed up timing as well but that can help. Also what i find helps is watch live videos of the band, and watch how they just nod their head to the beat it because thats how they keep their rhythm, im not sure if it would help you but its a good in sight of how they keep time