Hey guys! This is my first post on this forum, so I'll give a little intro first. My name's Charlie, 18 years old, and a cadet at The United States Air Force Academy. I've been playing guitar for about 8 years now on a daily basis, from just being a bedroom player to playing live with a few different acts of different genres. My gear as of now consists of a Bandmaster VM head and cab, 80's model Gibson SG, MIM Tele, Epi LP standard, Alvarez Artist 12-string jumbo body, and a Martin D15M.

I am about to splurge on what I consider my first true shred/metal guitar. When it comes to heavier music, I play mainly Maiden, Sabbath, Metallica, and Pantera. The only newer metal band I listen to is Avenged Sevenfold, mainly due to the fact that Sounding the Seventh trumpet was the first rock album I was ever exposed to, coming from a long line of country music (which I also love). The criteria for the new axe has boiled down to the following:

-Slimmer profile neck

-Locking Tremolo (must have)

-Preferrably Set-neck or neck-thru construction

-preferrably ebony fretboard

As for pickups, I would like to stay passive, as I think It will pair better with my amp. If EMG's will work out well, correct me if I'm wrong, but I've always been the guy to group them with dual rect's and 5150's. Also, this wont be a dedicated metal guitar, so I don't want a limiting tone. I'd much rather have a more do-it-all tone than the hottest, most overdriven one in the shop. I would like it to be slightly hotter than my SG though, which has 490t's. I understand most people are going to reccomend me to go out and try for myself, but being in the military, I don't often get off base. The models I'm currently looking at are:

1. Jackson RR1/SL2H If I go this route, I will be buying used. Rhoads have always been iconic to me.

2. Gibson Limited Run Explorer With Floyd Rose I love Gibsons, and I could buy this new

3.ESP LTD EC-1000FR