Hey guys,

so, I am kind of a new player, I have only been playing two years but I have learned fast and practiced 8-10 hours a day over the past 2 years... my life has become this guitar.

And I started practicing by improvising and it took a long time but I got pretty good at it. SO I have learned timing, and good phrasing and I can play pretty darn fast not CRAZY fast. I also learned the minor/major scale over the entire fretboard and can move fluidly between the different box positions with out thinking about it .

But I wanna be able to improvise for those fast paced metal songs shredding crazy licks my problem is. I think I am a bit stuck in a two note per string pattern. I mean I have tried the three note per string scale and sure I can hammer on notes all the way up the neck but it sounds so linear and boring.

I am really unsure of what I am asking,

I suppose is what patterns should I be drilling into my head in order to be able to create crazy fast runs. And also fast repeating licks.

I basically wanna be able to do what this guy does.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8cxahtOAC8&feature=watch_response

I will tell you in more specifics what I am talking about.

(0:22 this is a really fast and cool lick, it actually looks like hes only using two fingers is this right? )

((0:26 this looks like a 3 note pattern but sounds nothing like when I pull off 3 notes on two strings )

(0:45 this looks like incredibly fast picking, i CANT pick that fast yet but ill work on it if only I knew what his fret hand was doing)

Now hes faster then I am but not by a huge margin but I know its gonna take a bit of time for me to get up to speed, and I know he has added in some thinks like finger taping and sweep picking, But I am unconcerned with those two techniques at this time, I can finger tap a bit already and sweep picking I actually just don't like the sound of so I don't bother with it. The parts that blow me away is when he isnt tapping or sweeping.