Well, I just started playing bass after playing guitar for 4 years
(I always wanted to start on playing bass)

But anyway, I use finger style for playing bass
I'm setting up a band, and for the time being we're going to playing Pop-Punk shizzle like Bowling for Soup, the Offspring, All time Low, You me at Six
(as drunk people at Uni will appreciate it more....and so will the ladiessssss )

Joking aside
As I said I am going to use finger style
I know many pop-punk bassists use a pick (for speed maybe....or definition...I'm not sure)

But basically, finger style for pop-punk, is that still the whole brushing the strings?
And in order to work up speed for it, is that just going to be tedious speed drills?

Thanks for any help

EDIT:
And anchoring-wise....is the top of a pickup a good idea?....or should I anchor my thumb above the string I'm playing? (would I put my thumb on top of my pickup for when playing the Low E string?)
Last edited by Highelf04 at Nov 2, 2011,
where you put your hand and most of your technique is preference. The pickup is a common middle ground (and it is in the middle) gives you a best of both worlds tone. towards the bridge becomes more treble oriented and stands out, the strings vibrate less this direction and have a "taught" concentrated sound to me, and a lot of pick players play here to accent it (see Nikki shits - Motley Crue). Other bass players play at the neck or even slightly on the neck (mostly with fingers), It gives a more thumpy sound, or when played aggressively a thick percussive tone as the strings quickly jounce off the last of the frets and neck (Geezer Butler - Black Sabbath). Th middle tends to be a safe place, and sounds great, and tends to favor a broader range of styles and EQ preferences. Just practice playing fast and precise, when I first started I'd play too hard and hook my fingers under the strings and they'd stick at the pole pieces and pop!