I've heard from a few friends that they eat through strings, and they'd be really, really bright...

But I'm interested in their durability and playability. I've been playing with rounded V-picks for about 6 months now, and while I like the tone and comfort, some about my strumming style screws up their shape in a few weeks. As far as smooth strumming goes, do they compare?

Anyone know more? Can anyone confirm anything I know?

Cheers!
Maximum volume yields maximum goats.
I played with brass, silver, and stainless steel picks for years and never found that they ate through strings at all. Of course, I've never broken a string through any method so perhaps that's not a useful statement.

Either way, they're fun and worth a shot. They'll wear a little bit but they develop a nice sharp knife-edge which is actually quite nice since it removes some of the very bright pick attack. They last essentially forever, so if you're not a loser of picks, they're great. I've had the best luck with the brass Ice-pix. Bought a 3-pack 5 years ago and haven't needed to go back for more yet. They are exceedingly bright, and they have a very pronounced attack. They're pretty much the exact opposite of V-picks in every way except that neither of them bend or give at all.

Give them a try, they're not too expensive. If you wear picks out fast, I doubt you'll find a better answer. Stainless steel will never wear out but make a pinging sound when you hit the string that I could not deal with. Silver are excellent, really interesting tonally but the most expensive and wear out the fastest, though that's not exactly an issue with metal picks. Brass are a happy medium, they sound close to silver, very crunchy and a nice bite without the weirdness of stainless.