Hey,

I have been practising alternate picking for a while now (3 months focused practice), and I feel like I am not getting any better at it (I mean speed-wise). I can only come to a conclusion that my technique is not good, but I dont know what I am doing wrong (although when I pick, my hand and the pick tends to "hop" on the string while picking rather than staying firm). What do you suggest?
Well i'm gonna share my 2 cents, cause with the thing i've been doing the past months i've improved greatly at AP.

This works for everything, not just alternate picking. And i felt so stupid i dident do this before.

Take a lick/riff or basiclly anything your practicing. Since you say alternate picking lets take a alternate picking lick.

So what i firstly do is of course play it slowly first until i've memorised it.

Then what i do is this.
Practice it 5 minutes straight (no break) at the highest tempo i can play it PERFECTLY. That would be clean and RELAXED.
Then i have a 5 minute break from the lick. Then i do the same thing for 5 min, then 5 min break and then one last time for 10 minute. Then 10 minute break and move on to the next thing.

I've done this on everything i've been working on the last couple of months. If you are truly relaxed when doing this you will be able to play it a little faster the next day (Still relaxed). And then you keep doing it until your up to the original tempo.

So short: Practice everything perfectly, Clean and relaxed (You should not feel tense!!) and you will be improving much faster.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
Quote by kiraly5
Hey,