Hello ,

I'm facing a difficult decision and I would like some opinions .

I've been playing the guitar for a few years now and I've made a band , started writing songs and so on . I need to start recording ideas , songs , and start gigging .
I have to choose between buying a tube amp or an effect processor .

A tube amp has the best sound , but it's harder to record with compared to an effect processor like those Line6 pods , and uncomfortable to carry to venues .
An effect processor does not sound organic , but you've got a lot of sounds in it , easy to record with and easy to carry around .

Bare in mind I've only just started playing in a band and at local venues , don't make a living out of it ... ( at least yet , you never know :P )

This being said , please give me your opinions .
Thank you

P.S. If anyone is up for the effect processor option , I would appreciate if you gave me some processor models to take into consideration.
If all you want to do is record into a computer, then some sort of digital interface/recording software is probably the way to go. But if you want to play with other people, you'll need an amp. Even with a top of the line processor, you're going to have to plug it into a P.A. or else get a power amp and a speaker cabinet, which essentially means an amplifier rig. And if you're just starting out, then your band's P.A. might well be something small that is meant only for the vocals and a monitor mix or two. In short, you're better off with an amplifier.

As for recording with one, just about everything recorded since the middle of the last decade was recorded with an amplifier and a microphone stuck in front of it. It certainly worked fine for a long, long time. It still does.