hey guys ive been playing guitar for a couple of years now and i consider myself as an above average guitarist compared to other people i know, i can play things like master of puppets, tornado of souls and stairway to heaven, but not the solos to any of them but i can play solos like fade to black, nothing else matters and sweating bullets prity admirably i think, but i cant seem to learn any other songs so i was wondering if any of you had any suggestions on techniques that would help me progress or songs that would be good for helping me get better at soloing
p.s. i do listen to other things besides metallica and megadeth i just thought that they would be good examples cos everyone knows them
I really enjoy playing The Trooper by Iron Maiden, the main lead isn't that hard, it's got some galloping ( great for your picking hand ) and the solo's are not that hard either.
Also, Painkiller by Judas Priest.
Current gear:
Carvin CT6M
TC Electronics Dark Matter distortion
Harley Benton 2x12, with Celestion V30s
Laney Ironheart 60w tube amp
The first thing to do is learn all the guitar parts for those songs you mentioned, including all the solos. Get some reliable sheet music for them and start slow, gradually increasing the tempo to match the recordings. You'll feel much better when you can play all the songs thoroughly. Then move on to something more challenging, like some Bach or some country, jazz etc.
Use your ear to learn the songs you mentioned. Keep listening and tab it out yourself, this is a great way to link your hearing to where your fingers go on the fretboard.

Have you considered working through a Blues book?

I also find that when I hit a wall I'm actually still improving, but it doesn't feel like it. And then suddenly I leap forward in my skills, as if my body has been storing it up for a big reward. Keep at it mate, and the rewards will come!!