im really new to getting amps. wanna save up for a marshall. but i have no idea where to start or what i need. i gig probably a few times a year. and practice with a band. so it needs to be loud and it would be a sole gig amp. i got my gibson and all the pedals and pickups the only thing missing from my killer line up is the amazing amp. im currently running a peavy vypyr 30 any ways how much is this gonna cost and what should i get. i want a zakk wylde type sound if that helps
Is there a specific reason that you NEED a halfstack? Unless you have a pretty good budget ($1000 minimum), you're not going to get much good in the way of a Marshall half stack. (Don't even mention the MG halfstack). What is your budget roughly, where are you located, and what kind of gigging situations do you play at? Can you be mic'ed?
Telecasters-->Dunlop Volume Pedal-T1M Pearl-AMT Japanese Girl Wah-Line 6 M9-Ibanez DE7-EHX Cathedral-->Mesa Boogie Nomad 4x10 combo
If you're after a Zakk Wylde sound, go for a JCM800 combo. You can find them cheap used.

You don't need a half stack to be heard, despite people's misconceptions, a combo can sound as good or in some cases better than a half stack and have plenty of volume on tap.
Quote by SimplyBen
That's the advantage of being such a distance from Yianni. I can continue to live my life without fear of stumbling upon his dark terror.

Quote by Toppscore
NakedInTheRain aka "Naked with shriveled pencil sized bacon In The Rain"
Ahh im an alright player as far as everything. but i love jammin all i do is play guitar. so i mine as well get a great amp i got the great guitar. i dont want to put truck hubs on a farrari
The Vypyr should give you a great metal tone and lead tone, maybe you're just not dialing it in right?
Quote by SimplyBen
That's the advantage of being such a distance from Yianni. I can continue to live my life without fear of stumbling upon his dark terror.

Quote by Toppscore