Page 1 of 2
Hi UG, I am currently studying Music Technology at college and I have have been asked to conduct an investigation into an area of personal interest that relates to Music Technology in some way. Being a guitarist, I've chosen to study the long standing debate between tube amps and solid-state amps.

I have been undertaking a large amount of research into my chosen area of study, including reading books, watching videos and interviewing other musicians on the topic. But I think getting the thoughts and opinions of the UG community would be great to put into my report as it would be ideal to include opinions and arguments by fellow guitarists who know what they are talking about.

My title and first paragraph is as follows;

"A collation and assimilation of research into a tube guitar amplifier and a solid-state guitar amplifier to compare the pros and cons of both.

In the field of electric guitar amplification there are a multitude of different amplifiers on the market and while they are all manufactured to perform the same function, to amplify the guitar's signal, many are constructed in vastly different ways, thus giving them hugely different sounds from one another. Two popular yet technically dissimilar types of guitar amplifiers are tube amplifiers and solid-state amplifiers.
Ever since the eve of electric guitar amplification there has been heated debate amongst guitarists regarding which type of amplifier, tube or solid-state, are the most desirable in terms of tone, durability, value for money and overall practicality."