since when i started playing i have been working on technique because i liked those fast runs paul gilbert style.
i know that playing guitar is not a race and its not about playing as fast as humanly possible, but a year ago i was drooling over the thought of playing 6's in the range of 100 bpm which i believe is a very decent speed. now that i can play 6's even at 113-115 it feels very slow and i feel like i have to bring it to 125-130.
is this normal or am i never going to stop "chasing the metronome"?
No....the better you get the easier things feel.

If you get a hard-on for chasing the metronome that's your problem lol, most people prefer to concentrate on playing music rather than playing fast for the sake of it.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Quote by steven seagull
No....the better you get the easier things feel.

If you get a hard-on for chasing the metronome that's your problem lol, most people prefer to concentrate on playing music rather than playing fast for the sake of it.

eh I dunno I'd say it's about a 50-50 split between people who just want speed and people who play for feeling but other than that, definitely
Quote by jkielq91
My teacher says to play fast you have to think slow.

My mama used to say life is like a box of chocolate... sorry it sounded like that to my ears...

but when you say that you feel it's slow you mean you can play at that speed easily as it were slow? because if that's what you ment, that can only be good.
Quote by FatalGear41
When you break a bass string, that snapping sound is the sound of six dollars going down the crapper.

Sterling Ray 35
Hartke Ha3500 head - Gallien Krueger 212MBE cab
Tech 21 VT Bass
Zoom b2
Last edited by Sudaka at Nov 7, 2011,