I've been practicing for almost 7 months now on technique...practicing slowly and concentrating on accuracy. I've made progress and I'm now in touch with muscles that I never thought existed; but I have a question to those who can play very fast and relaxed: how relaxed is relaxed? Should I stop when I feel the least bit of tension in my picking hand? Should the pick be loose in my hand? Should I be applying only enough tension to that the pick acts almost as a shock absorber as my wrist goes back and forth over the string? So far I've been employing a method where most of my practice is actually quite slow--concentrating on the technique and accuracy; but I push myself a bit for every exercise (including songs), trying to increase the tempo to just the point where I can still play it somewhat accurately, and then decreasing the tempo again. Should I be doing this? Or should I be only playing when there is absolutely no tension at all?
Picking is actually very similar to writing with a pencil.

Writing is some thing very natural which you have done for your whole life and never even thought about.

Get a pen and some paper and do some writing and see how relaxed/ tense you are and that should give you the feeling you need.

You basically want it to feel natural, like every thing else you do in life. You dont want to be super tense, but you dont want to be like jelly.

Try it out =)
Last edited by jkielq91 at Nov 7, 2011,
Quote by afrika18
but I push myself a bit for every exercise (including songs), trying to increase the tempo to just the point where I can still play it somewhat accurately, and then decreasing the tempo again. Should I be doing this? Or should I be only playing when there is absolutely no tension at all?