I am going to start teaching guitar to some beginners starting from December. I got a good idea of what to teach them. Now I was wondering what I should not do in-front of my students. For example, would it be ok to shred around on the guitar or would it just mess with their minds?

So what should I NOT do when teaching?

P.S: I am new to teaching.

Thanks,
Depending on the student. If the student is more new to stuff and you want to show something, don't just shred. Simple, slower things is easier to grasp and then work from there.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
Hmm, depending on the student, some shredding might motivate them to practice their chords or, it could actually demotivate them as they're quite a long while away from that standard. Basically, if the kid gets bored and wants to play fast then show him what he has to work to. If the kid is happily working away on his/her chords leave them be. Something that I like to do is to get them to pick a song they want to learn and we'll work towards that if it's suitable.
i know that i get really encouraged and inspired to play when i watch some good shredding on youtube, but at the same time some others claim that it makes them want to throw their guitars away. dunno.
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!