First of all I'm not a singer, I'm a guitarist. However since I write music and lyrics I always wished I could sing my own songs to give my full expression. I never had a teacher, and my singing experience is very little limited. I recorded myself several times and I just didn't sound good, I had pitch issues because my voice wasn't so easy to control, and my vocal volume isn't that powerful. So singing would always be out of the question.

However, one day after becoming ill, I realized the volume of my voice was louder than usual. My low range was quite powerful. I decided to try singing that day.

I realized several things:
1. It had never felt so natural singing than it had on that day.
2. My range was quite outstanding actually, the low ends and the high ends had widened up.
3. I could control the pitch with ease, and I could sing in tune 99% of the time with little effort.
4. I could sing in a higher volume than I have ever had before, and it didn't feel like it was forced.

I had never felt these things before when singing, but somehow, being sick made my voice much more powerful. This lasted for several days until my minor illness was healed due to time. After that, my voice was back to normal, boring, volume less and hard to control when singing.

This struck me because it was the first time I actually sounded good at this. I'm not saying I had an incredible voice, I'm just saying I had a pleasing voice to listen to, something to back me up as a songwriter, to give the full expression when I write my own songs. I am fully aware I am not going to be a "Singer".

Since this was not my usual "healthy" voice, do you think I can train my voice to sound like this with a vocal coach?
Have any of you ever been to a vocal coach? Is it any good; did you improve your vocals? Or is the singing talent something natural that can't be trained? What about my case? After all, the one singing on that day was me.

Here is how my singing sounded like when I was ill: