Hey all,

I am largely a self-taught guitarist, and have been playing for about 5 years. I have a "bad" habit of anchoring my pinky finger just below the high e string. I suppose I do it for stability, it's just something I've developed over the years.

I've now entered a formal guitar class, and the professor has said that having an anchor will cause stress and harm my hand in the long run. However, when I try to play without it, it's quite uncomfortable and I can't play as long. I feel like this could potentially be a problem, as I plan to attempt to major in music.

If you don't want my life story, here's the short version: I anchor my pinky finger on the guitar. My teacher says it's bad. What are you opinions or advice?
Quote by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.

~ A Rolling Potato Gathers No Moss ~
Just stop doing it when you play. I can't think of any other advice, ease yourself out of it.
West Ham United
Quote by King Donkey
Just stop doing it when you play. I can't think of any other advice, ease yourself out of it.

I have done that, and it is getting a bit easier. I guess I was looking for tips I can do while playing to help.

For instance, someone told me to tape my pinky to my ring finger, which was kind of ridiculous.

Thanks for your input!
Quote by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.

^ just stop doing it like it's been said. you'll need to spend a lot of quality time focusing on not anchoring for it to become subconscious.
A lot of guitarists anchor their pinky. It's totally dependant on the person (I do). It might cause your professor stress and harm in his hand, but if it's comfortable for you, then that's all you need to be concerned about. I think Satriani and Petrucci anchor their pinkies, and if anybody would be concerned about the mechanics of playing, it's those guys. Mark Knopfler keeps his pinky and his ring finger anchored, Wes Montgomery kept ALL his fingers anchored and played with this thumb, etc.

Anyway, the point is, if it feels good do it.