I'm mainly a guitarist, but I'm looking for a cheap bass to mess around on and use for recording sometimes. I'm thinking about looking for a squire, and I've heard the Classic Vibe series is pretty good, but I'm open to suggestions.

Budget: No more then $400, preferably about $300. Don't care if used but I prefer new. I live near Austin Texas. Most of what I play is punk, pop-punk and sometimes metal, but on the bass it'll probably just be punk.

I don't really know anything about basses, so any information you guys can provide would be helpful.
Last edited by phayzze at Nov 9, 2011,
Some kind of Squier P sounds perfect for you. Others will chime in on the relative merits of CV or VM models.
yamaha rbx series could be worth a look as well. personally i prefer them ten fold to the squier basses.
DONT RISK IT, BUY A BASS AMP
Epiphone Thunderbird?

I was seriously considering this one as a bass guitar (i also play guitar like you and wanted a cheap but decent bass to dick about on)
Quote by LivinJoke84
Epiphone Thunderbird?

Has nothing on Squiers Classic Vibe and Vintage Modified series, or any of the lower level Ibanez, Yamaha, or Peavey basses.
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
you should buy a used bass. sometimes they are a bit scratched or something, but the sound normally stays the same so you can afford a way better one then buying a new one in the same price-category(?)*sorry for my english, hope you understand what i mean* anyway
personally i love warwicks, they are good balanced, good to play, sound great (no matter which music direction you wanna play) and last like... forever.
and what many people forget, get good strings! the bass can be as great as it wants to, the strings are just the same important. i also use warwick strings for about 40$ but they are worth every penny.