I usually play with the area around my wrist of my right hand resting on the guitar bride. I think I just started playing this way, because I was into a lot of rock/metal and I needed to be able to mute strings ringing out. However, I can move my hand, up and down, just as long as it's still touching the bridge.

I find it harder to play with no contact with the guitar at all, but it seems almost impossible to play cleanly with no hand/wrist contact to the guitar, even on the clean channel other strings ring out, even subtlety.

So, am I anchoring and if so what needs to be done to fix it, how long might it take?

Cheers.
Not anchoring is not the same as having no contact with the guitar at all, anchoring is having part of your hand fixed in such a way that it creates tension or limits your movement; you need to have contact with the guitar for muting purposes.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Not anchoring is not the same as having no contact with the guitar at all, anchoring is having part of your hand fixed in such a way that it creates tension or limits your movement; you need to have contact with the guitar for muting purposes.

no...
Achoring is the opposite. It improves your accuracy and keeps you from getting tense like you do when having a floating picking hand.
It's possible to mute and anchor by still having the palm in contact with the strings.
You must have some sort of contact with guitar to play properly, but it's not neccesary when strumming.
Quote by JB95
no...
Achoring is the opposite. It improves your accuracy and keeps you from getting tense like you do when having a floating picking hand.
It's possible to mute and anchor by still having the palm in contact with the strings.